Hurricanes, Tornados & Were-Bears, on my!

I’m happy to report we survived Hurricane Irene without even losing electricity.  It was a long, stressful weekend, though, and I’m glad it’s over.  It’s one thing to hear about hurricanes off-shore and get a little rain, it’s an entirely different thing to have the “eye” nearby.  It was a tense two days sprinkled with bouts of terrifying.

It was with a triumphant grin that I finished my were-bear novella on Thursday.  It has come in at 111 kb before any editing, and I was shooting for 100 so I think I did well.  Since I’m offering it for free, I guess it doesn’t matter how long it is, but I’m glad it’s over my shoot-for size at any rate.  I’ll be curious how KG likes it, it’s much hotter than TWM for sure, and it certainly didn’t turn out like I planned.

Originally, I’d written the story to be about a witch with a handful of lovers and the dynamics of the relationships, but I hadn’t planned for what actually happened…to happen.  It’s sweeter than I thought it would be and I’m glad for it.  Hot and sweet, my kind of erotic romance.   I finished my “won” book by J.D. and it was not what I expected at all.  As menage books it was more about the men than the girl, and that was weird for me.  Maybe it was because I just finished another menage book where the two men were into each other just as much as the woman and in some cases more and I thought that was a unique scenario.  I don’t think menages work in the real world.  In fictional worlds, I like the female to be the one that the men are interested in, the one that ties them together, not also a separate interest in each other.   That’s just my thing, though.  And that’s also why it’s fiction.  I certain won’t stop reading either author, it was just a strange coincidence to read two so similar books back to back like that. 

So I’m beginning the second book taking place after the were-bear novella.  I wanted the one jilted lover to have his own book, but um, I think he’ll have to share his woman, too!  Is that me being catty with my own characters?  Nahhhhhh.   Happy Reading!  -R

Leave a Reply

