Holy Freakin’ Crap I’m Published!

AHHHH!  So this is what it feels like to be published?  Will wonders never cease?  Yes, yes, yes!  Yesterday afternoon, the 12th of November (*remember that!) I sent off my first novella A Curve of Claw to smashwords to be published.  After passing the first muster, it went right out into the smashwords website while it’s waiting to be reviewed by real human eyes and not a computer for formatting errors before being sent off to other digital arenas such as Kindle and iBook.  As of noon on the 13th, not even 24 hours, I have over 200 downloads!  I don’t think I ever know 200 people, and here a bunch of people are reading about Ash, Axe & Elizabeth and maybe (dare I hope?) getting turned on a bit in the process?  Hee hee!

So while I’ve been giggling away at the whole publishing process and amazed at the response so far just from being on the smashwords website, I have to say I’m totally tickled.  Granted, I haven’t gotten a review yet – good or bad – besides my darling Angel Reader Kameko, my Jill of All Trades, who was very supportive of my were-bear/wicca world in Northern Ohio.  I can’t wait to get my first email and my first review.  Technology is a fantastic thing.  20 years ago I would have been making copies and praying for some low-level guy in a publishing house to think I was awesome.  Now, all I need – all anyone needs – is a computer and internet connection and a good idea.  Sweet!

So my pretties…if you’re reading my blog because you downloaded my book and you’re cyber stalking me, leave a comment!  I’d love to know what you think.  I never felt like such a newbie before.  And it’s awesome.  I can’t wait until it goes out live to the other places, too.  I’m grinning from ear to ear as I think about it right now!

And P.S.  don’t you love my novella cover?  Kameko is a true artist.  I am thankful all the time that she’s so talented and generous with her time.  The Anita wiki website will forever be on my favorite list because of how many friends I’ve made from it.

In keeping with my post last Sunday about adding a few paragraphs from another novella, I have decided to give you a little taste of the follow-up novella to A Curve of Claw …. A Flash of Fang.  This story follows Ash, Axe and Elizabeth a few months after the first novella.  I’m in the process of reviewing and fleshing out some chapters before I sent it over to KG for perusal.  I love aFoF, maybe even a little more than aCoC, just because you get to know the boys better and you see more about what Elizabeth’s powers are really like.  Plus, who doesn’t like a little danger thrown in for good measure, and oh yeah, plenty of hot were-bear sex!

**********

After breakfast, I helped Ash with the dishes and then Axe called me to him in the middle of the family room.  He wrapped his arms around me and squeezed tightly, and my whole body melted at his touch.  “Love you, baby,” he whispered huskily.

Before I could respond, Ash said, “Ready.”  Axe released me and I turned to look at Ash who had come to stand behind us.  He held a blindfold in his hands.

“Alright, what are you guys up to?”  I demanded, noticing their carefully blank faces but bright, eager eyes.

“You have to wear this.”  Ash said.

“Why?”

“Because we don’t want you to know where we’re going.” Axe supplied.

“Why not?”

“Because anticipation makes the reward that much sweeter.”  Ash grinned and slipped the blindfold over my head before I could ask anything else.  It was satin and made so that no light peeked
from the edges.  I couldn’t see a damn thing.

Axe said, “I’m going to carry you, aleni, okay?  Wouldn’t want you to trip or hurt yourself.”

“Thanks.  I trust you both, though.  I know you wouldn’t let me get hurt.”  My stomach nearly flipped over as Axe swung me up into his arms.  I rested my cheek against his shoulder and hugged my arms around him.  “I love you.”  I said, settling into my sightlessness.

“I love you, too, baby.  And you know something?  Your trust in me, in us…it’s so precious.  I love that you trust us.  I covet it.  And your love.”

I hugged myself tighter to him as he walked me out of the house.  Axe was not the most sensitive man on the planet, but he was damn romantic when he wanted to be.  My curiosity was piqued about the weekend, and the need for a blindfold, but I wasn’t going to ask any questions yet.  Whatever they had in store for us, I knew that it would be amazing and perfect and wonderful.  Just like them.

**********

There you go…is your interest piqued more?  My intention is to have A Flash of Fang published by the first week of December but a lot rides on schedules.  I had no idea how much time went into reviewing and editing, but it’s made me love my characters and novella that much more and I’m confident in the work I put out there.  I can’t wait to finish A Flash of Fang and then move on to my novel series – The Wolf’s Mate (book one planned for January 2012 release).  Thank you for stopping by.  Happy Reading! – R

2 comments on “Holy Freakin’ Crap I’m Published!

  1. Curve of claw was such a fantastic novella! I actually went looking for the sequel, to purchase today, but discovered I’ll have to wait. Can’t wait to read more about Elizabeth, Axe and Ash.
    You have a fan waiting for more. 🙂

    Thank you!

    Kate

Leave a Reply

