The Waiting Game

I have never claimed to be a patient girl, but publishing has taught me about it.  I’m still waiting to hear from smashwords for the book to pass the human-review and go live to the other venues.  I have plenty to do in the meantime, so my waiting time isn’t idle exactly.  And with 700 downloads and 3 five-star reviews, plus lots of blog visits, I’m really happy.  On cloud nine, even!

I’m in the process of reviewing the follow-up to Curve of Claw, A Flash of Fang, which I hope to have out to smashwords the first week of December.  But it all depends on schedules – best laid plans and all that.  And I’m also going through the first full length novel, The Wolf’s Mate Book 1, Jason & Cadence, and reviewing/editing so that it will be ready to go in January.

In keeping with my recent posts to include some paragraphs on Sundays from my works, I’ve decided to go back to the beginning and post one of my favorite scenes from The Wolf’s Mate Book 1.  This takes place in Chapter 3.  Cadence, the hybrid wolf, works at Jake’s bar and her best friend Callie, a full-blooded wolf, needed help getting away from a grabby male wolf.  The object of Cadence’s affection, Jason, is in the bar and watching nearby and she takes the opportunity to tease him – just because she can.

* * * * * * * *

She [Callie] took a sip and sighed.  “….mainly, they think I’ve been single long enough.”

“Who exactly are they?” I darted a glance to the booth and could tell by the way that Jason was sitting that he was listening to us.  Werewolves had fantastic hearing, even in human form.  It was not a trait I’d inherited from my mother, and I’d always thought it must be nice to hear so easily like that.

To see if he really was listening, I whispered to Callie in a conspiratorial way, “I think Chris looks fucking hot tonight, don’t you?”  Out of the corner of my eye, I watched as Jason’s face contorted with rage and then there was a loud crack as the bottle in his hand shattered.

He grunted, “Fuck,” and all his wolves were grabbing napkins to sop up the beer.  I giggled, I couldn’t help it, and Jake leaned over me and put his big paw on the worn counter.  “You think it’s funny, but you have to clean it up.”

Peeking up at him, I saw that he was trying to be stern but he clearly also thought it was funny.  Teasing the big bad.  I was such a bitch.  “I’ll get to it, old man.  Obviously I should wait, though, since he’s all red-faced and covered in beer.”

Jake snorted at me, tugged on a lock of my hair fondly, and went back to work.

* * * * * * * *

I may have mentioned before that I never planned for The Wolf’s Mate to ever turn into anything.  I had an idea one day about a hybrid wolf female that was in love with the alpha and the problems that came with her not being a true wolf.  I crashed a few chapters into it and put it aside in my big file of unfinished things.  And then I was encouraged by my dear friend Kameko, and with her expert cheerleading, I dove headfirst into the book again.  And now, it’s come to mean a great deal to me.  And just like with A Curve of Claw, I couldn’t leave the story of the wolf pack alone with only the one book, and have completed books two and three already, with three more partially finished.  As I worked on the first novel, I found characters begging to be written.  It was like my book took on a life of its own.  If I let Jason & Cadence have their story and their true love, then the other wolves needed it to.  And I think Kameko would say that Michael, second in the pack, really needed his story told first.  🙂

If you’re curious, I always pictured Cadence as America Olivo.  I think she’s just beautiful.  And Jason I’ve always seen as Charlie Hunnam, pre-head shaving of course.  Best wishes for a happy Thanksgiving holiday and, as always, Happy Reading!  – R

Leave a Reply

