The Wolf’s Mate Book 1 Available Now on Smashwords

I can’t tell you how very excited I am to finally be able to post that The Wolf’s Mate Book 1 went live on Smashwords today!

You can find it on Smashwords for the lovely low price of 99 cents.  When it clears all of Smashwords hurdles, hopefully within the next two weeks, it will debut on Amazon at the same price (I’ll do a blog post on that day as well).

About the book:

For 14 years, alpha wolf Jason has watched his partially marked mate Cadence live her life without him.  Circumstances force his hand and he must find a way to get her to uncover her buried memories of their past before someone else steps up to take her from him.  For as long as she can remember, hybrid wolf Cadence has loved Jason with every fiber of her being but he’s consistently shoved her away until the love that’s there is bound tightly in anger and shame.  No one can take his place in her heart, but that doesn’t mean that there aren’t wolves willing to try.  Will Cadence be able to get through Jason’s icy demeanor to the heart of the boy she’s always loved?  Can Jason undo the past so they will have a future together?   This book contains red-hot werewolf loving, plenty of neck biting, and misuse of a kitchen counter.  The Wolf’s Mate is a book for mature audiences only and contains sexually explicit content.

I began writing The Wolf’s Mate Book 1 at the beginning of 2011.  I wanted to write a story about a hybrid wolf (i.e., mostly human but with some wolfish tendencies) being in love with a pack alpha.  I wanted to write a sweet story, to have them be childhood friends so that I had wonderful memories to pull from.  I just loved building their past, creating little stories that explain their love for each other and the event that tore them apart.  I started really writing the book in April, when my friend in the ether, the infamous Kameko who is also my delicious cover designer, said she’d be happy to read something I wrote and give her opinion.  I had only written about 8 chapters of the book and was pretty stuck, so I sent her the first four chapters and when I got back her review of what I’d done, her critical eye and curiosity about the characters and the world I’d built in Allen, Kentucky made me want to write the story.

Here is the Smashwords link:  https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/124672

One of the blog pages details the characters in Allen, so if you need help it’s right there.  Allen, Kentucky is a fictional town where werewolves and humans exist together.  There are no secret hidden wolf natures or anything like that.  I didn’t want to get bogged down in the wheres and whys of the wolves in town, I just wanted the town to be as it is.  The town is mostly wolf, nearly all the businesses are run by wolves, but humans coexist just fine.  And in case you’re curious, in this world, wolves can’t change a human.  I didn’t want to make things anymore complicated then they needed to be.  🙂

Writing TWM1 has been a journey of self discovery and I’ve enjoyed every single moment, and I hope that you do, too.

The Wolf’s Mate is a six book series, chronicling eight characters from the series:  Jason, Cadence, Linus, Callie, Michael, Lindy, Bo, and Fritz.  Three of the six books are completed and the others are partially done, and my intention is to release one approximately every two to three months.

If you’re stopping by for the first time, drop me a comment or send me an email, I’d love to hear from you.  If you’re back again for another dose of my witty banter, thanks for stopping by and why not follow me or drop me a line?  Best wishes and, as always, happy reading!  -R

2 comments on “The Wolf’s Mate Book 1 Available Now on Smashwords

    • Hi Cheryl, yes I am actually working steadily on the third in the wiccan novella series about brothers Lynk and Tavian (although I should probably have called it the were-bear series!) and am hopeful to have it out in the near future. I am also planning another two at least to follow, that will chronicle Daeton’s story. Thanks for the comment and for dropping in! R

Leave a Reply

