Happy Independence Day!!!

While our family is preparing to take our boat out to watch the fireworks display in Atlantic City, NJ tonight, I wanted to take a moment to share a few thoughts and quotes on this day, when the streets of our little shoretown will be lined with flags for the coming parade.

My father was in the army during Vietnam.  My husband was in the navy during Iran-Contra.  And my step-son serves in the Air Force now and could, this coming year, be deployed to Iraq.  I’m thankful for their service and the service of others like them.

I want to thank all of those that have served in the armed forces in the past and those that serve now.  God bless you and God Bless America!

This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave.  ~Elmer Davis

It is the love of country that has lighted and that keeps glowing the holy fire of patriotism.  ~J. Horace McFarland

And I’m proud to be an American, where at least I know I’m free. And I won’t forget the men who died, who gave that right to me. ~Lee Greenwood

By R.E. Butler Posted in General

Leave a Reply

